Small Business SMEs
Starting your own business doesn't have to be hard. This guide contains useful books, videos, and resources on how to start your own small business.
Library Resources
- Industry 4.0 for SMEs Challenges, Opportunities and RequirementsExamines how the SME 4.0 concept can be implemented. Provides a mix of research studies with best practice case studies.
Provides examples of successful implementations focusing on digital solutions
Customer Relationship Management (CRM) for Medium and Small Enterprises - Opens in a new window by ISBN: 1003148387Publication Date: 2022-04-07
Self-Made Boss: Advice, Hacks, and Lessons from Small Business Owners - Opens in a new window by ISBN: 9781264264094Publication Date: 2022-03-22
Starting a Business All-In-One for Dummies - Opens in a new window by Call Number: HD62.5 .A4616 2019ISBN: 9781119565215
Starting a Business QuickStart Guide - Opens in a new window by Call Number: HD62.5 .C65 2019ISBN: 9781945051630
Databases
- Business (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowBroker research reports, trade publications, newspapers, journals and company directory listings. It includes subjects such as management, economics and politics.
- Canadian Business & Current Affairs This link opens in a new windowChoose newspaper as resource type from limiters or use the Newspaper Search in Page 1+ to add Canadian news content to your results
A diverse collection of publications, including scholarly journals, trade publications, dissertations, books, newspapers and magazines. Covers Canadian studies, business, culture, current event, education, literature, agriculture, history, and language, as well as government and politics. - Canadian Major Dailies This link opens in a new windowChoose newspaper as resource type from limiters or use the Newspaper Search in Page 1+ to add Canadian news content to your results
National and leading regional newspapers, such as the National Post, the Globe and Mail, the Montreal Gazette, and the Ottawa Citizen. - Entrepreneurship (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowPeriodicals that provide insights, tips, strategies and success stories for small businesses.
Journals
- Entrepreneur - Opens in a new windowArticles, interviews, business profiles, financing, marketing, advertising and legislative news of note aimed at the small business owner or those planning to start a new or additional business.
- Inc. - Opens in a new windowA business magazine that presents information for small business management, including financing, the law, marketing, taxes, and managing people. Includes columns and departments on trends, new Internet technology, tips from CEOs, and advice on managing people.
- Journal of Enterprising Culture - Opens in a new windowPurpose is to publish conceptual, research, and/or case based works that can be of practical value to business persons, educators, students and advocates.
- Journal of Small Business Management - Opens in a new windowArticles, notes and other features on subjects of current professional interest in the fields of small business management and entrepreneurship aimed at small business readers and their advisors.
- Small Business Economics - Opens in a new windowForum for economic analysis of the role of small business. Contains research employing theoretical or quantitative analysis from both a national and international perspective.
Web Resources
- Business and Industry - Canada.ca - Opens in a new windowBusiness taxes, permits and regulations, intellectual property, business support and how to sell to government.
- Canada StartupsThe Startup Portal is a simple and complete platform for starting your very own small business.
- Defining Your Business Strategy - Opens in a new windowStrategic planning clarifies your long-term goals and the steps necessary to achieve them. Based on your business plan, a clear business strategy lets you envision where your company will be in the future—and provides you with a map for getting there.
- Hiring and Recruiting Employees - Opens in a new windowYou want to make sure you're hiring the best talent into your company. By putting time and effort into recruitment, you'll reap the rewards with a well-qualified, engaged staff.
- Key Small Business Statistics 2022Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada
- The Learning Portal: ePitches - Opens in a new windowStorytelling is an effective way for entrepreneurs to pitch a product to a potential investor. Combine a story with live action footage and images and you've got an ePitch!
- Ontario Business RegistryThe Ontario Business Registry allows businesses and not-for-profit corporations to complete over 90 transactions online, including registering, incorporating, and updating their information.
- Resources for small and medium enterprisesThe Ontario Securities Commission (OSC) recognizes the important role the small business sector plays in Ontario’s capital market. A large percentage of Ontario-based businesses are small and medium enterprises (SMEs). Additionally, a significant proportion of TSX-venture listed issuers are also based in Ontario.
- Small Business Services - Opens in a new windowSmall Business Services (SBS) is part of the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), and they help Ontario entrepreneurs access government business information and services.
- Starting a BusinessThe steps to consider before operating a business in Canada.
- Starting a Business in OntarioStarting a business can be exciting, but it can be hard to know where to begin. The following steps will help you get started on creating your business in Ontario.
- Business Regulations Guide : Govt of CanadaWhether you are starting or growing your business, you need to be aware of business regulations. Regulations set the standards and rules that ensure the Canadian marketplace is safe, consistent and fair to everyone.
- Federally Regulated Industry Sectors - Opens in a new windowRegulations for the agriculture, forestry, mining, oil and gas, telecom, health sectors and more.
- Market Regulations: Ontario Securities CommissionIn Ontario, marketplaces, including exchanges and alternative trading systems (ATSs); self-regulatory organizations (SROs); clearing agencies; and investor protection funds are regulated by the Ontario Securities Commission (OSC). Part of the OSC’s mandate is to promote fair and efficient capital markets and contribute to the reduction of systemic risk, including promoting compliance with market-related requirements of Ontario securities law and helping to develop and refine relevant rules and policies.
- Permit & Licences Search - BizPaL - Opens in a new windowBizPaL helps you find the permits and licences you may require when starting and/or operating your business. Filter permits based on your location, industry, and business activities and save the ones that apply to your situation.
- Permits, Licences and Regulations - Opens in a new windowhe permits, licences and regulations that apply to your business.
- Small business: advice, support services, regulationsHow new or existing small businesses can get advice, support and information on government regulations.
Page 1+
Access the Library’s print resources and most of our digital resources 24/7.