Patent Searching
This page contains resources for searching for patent information, and provides some background information about intellectual property.
You should be able to search a patent by number or by description.
Canadian Patents Search - Canadian Intellectual Property Office - https://www.canada.ca/en/services/business/ip/patents.html
US Patent Search - United States Patent and Trademark Office - https://www.uspto.gov/patents-application-process/search-patents
Canadian Patent Database - Government of Canada - https://www.ic.gc.ca/opic-cipo/cpd/eng/introduction.html
Canadian Intellectual Property Database - Government of Canada - https://www.canada.ca/en/services/business/ip/databases.html
File a Canadian Patent Application - Government of Canada - https://ised-isde.canada.ca/site/canadian-intellectual-property-office/en/patents/patent-application-and-examination/file-canadian-patent-application-you-start
Search for Patent Information
- Canadian Patents - Opens in a new windowFind information on patents from the Canadian Intellectual Property Office
- Canadian Trademarks Database - Opens in a new windowThis database provides access to over 140 years of Canadian trademarks data.
- Government of Canada: guide to industrial designs - Opens in a new windowLearn what industrial designs are and what makes them "registerable." Find out why you would want to register, and how to do it.
- Intellectual Property and Copyright - Opens in a new windowProtecting your intellectual property, trademarks, copyright and using IP as a business tool.
- Patent Register for Drug Products - Health Canada - Opens in a new windowAn alphabetical listing of medicinal ingredients and their associated patents, the patent expiry dates and other related information established in accordance with the Patented Medicines (Notice of Compliance) Regulations
- PCT – The International Patent System - Opens in a new windowThe Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT) assists applicants in seeking patent protection internationally for their inventions, helps patent Offices with their patent granting decisions, and facilitates public access to a wealth of technical information relating to those inventions. By filing one international patent application under the PCT, applicants can simultaneously seek protection for an invention in a very large number of countries
- US Government Patent and Trademark Office - Opens in a new windowInventors can get the latest news and updates from the USPTO. Also, search for existing patents or file a patent application online
- World Intellectual Property Organization - Opens in a new windowWIPO is the global forum for intellectual property (IP) services, policy, information and cooperation. They are a self-funding agency of the United Nations, with 192 member states.
- ACM Digital Library (Association for Computing Machinery) This link opens in a new windowProvides research, trade and education information in the fields of computer science and information technology. Note: This package does not include access to books.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowArticles from scholarly business journals and magazines. It also includes country overviews, market research reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, industry reports, and videos from the Harvard Faculty Seminar Series.
- Canadian Business & Current Affairs This link opens in a new windowChoose newspaper as resource type from limiters or use the Newspaper Search in Page 1+ to add Canadian news content to your results
A diverse collection of publications, including scholarly journals, trade publications, dissertations, books, newspapers and magazines. Covers Canadian studies, business, culture, current event, education, literature, agriculture, history, and language, as well as government and politics. - Canadian Major Dailies This link opens in a new windowChoose newspaper as resource type from limiters or use the Newspaper Search in Page 1+ to add Canadian news content to your results
National and leading regional newspapers, such as the National Post, the Globe and Mail, the Montreal Gazette, and the Ottawa Citizen. - CanLII This link opens in a new windowCourt judgments, tribunal decisions, statutes, and regulations from all Canadian jurisdictions.
- Entrepreneurship (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowPeriodicals that provide insights, tips, strategies and success stories for small businesses.
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowJournal and magazine articles covering engineering, electronics, computer science, and related disciplines such as telecommunications, automation, artificial intelligence, and imaging science. It includes content from Nokia’s Bell Labs Technical Journal.
For video tutorials and instructions on using this collection, visit the IEEE Resources and Help.
Page 1+
Access the Library’s print resources and most of our digital resources 24/7.