Skip to Main Content

Library

Faculty & Staff

Information and resources from the Library

Working With Digital Resources

The Library's digital resource collections allow users to share and save links to their resources. Faculty can use these features to recommend resources to their students, and to keep up to date on the resources for their field.

Sharing Digital Resources

Many of the Library’s digital resource collections permit a user to place content links from the resource directly into Brightspace, Word documents, or presentations. In this way, Faculty can build reading lists for their courses.

To share links to digital resource collections:

  1. Search within the resource and identify an article or item you would like to share with your students.
  2. Find the persistent link (permalink). Instructions for finding the permalink in each digital resource collection can be found in the tabs.

Adding e-Resource Links from EBSCO Digital Resources

Below, you will find instruction to help you find a shareable permalink in digital resource collections from EBSCO .

For additional help with EBSCO, visit the EBSCO Videos and Tutorials.

Capturing Article Links from EBSCO

  1. Click on the title of the article. This will reveal a detailed record of the article. 
  2. On the right sidebar of the record, you will see a list of tools available for you to use with the article contents. Click Permalink to generate a link to this article. The permalink button, located in the right side menu, is circled.
  3. Highlight and copy (Ctrl+c) the Permalink. This will save the link on your clipboard.
  4. Paste (Ctrl+v) the Permalink in Brightspace and other documents.

Capturing Journal/Magazine/Newspaper Links from EBSCO

  1. Click on the title of the journal. This will display the journal details and available issues.
  2. Click the Share button on the upper right corner of the journal record to view the Permalink.The permalink is circled.
  3. Highlight and copy (Ctrl+c) the Permalink. This will save the link on your clipboard.
  4. Paste (Ctrl+v) this link in Brightspace and/or any other document.

Adding Links from Films on Demand

Below, you will find instruction to help you find a shareable permalink in Films on Demand.

For additional help with Films on Demand, visit the Films on Demand Video Tutorials.

Capturing Video or Segment Links

  1. Click on the title of the video or segment to which you would like to link.
  2. Below the video, click Embed/Link.
  3. The embed/copy link window will open in a new window. Find the Record URL and click Copy. This will save the link on your clipboard.
  4. Paste (Ctrl+v) this link in Brightspace and/or any other document.

Adding Links from Gale Digital Resource Collections

Below, you will find instruction to help you find a shareable permalink in digital resource collections from Gale.

Capturing Article Links from Gale

  1. Click on the title of the article. This will reveal the detailed record of the article. 
  2. Click Get Link in the top right of the page.

    The Get Link button, located in the top menu, is circled.

  3. Click Select to highlight the URL. Copy (Ctr+c) this URL.
  4. Paste (Ctrl+v) the URL in Brightspace and other documents.

Capturing Journal/Magazine/Newspaper Links from Gale

  1. Click on the title of the journal. This will display the journal details and available issues.
  2. Click Get Link in the top right of the page.

    The Get Link button, located in the top menu, is circled.

  3. Click Select to highlight the URL. Copy (Ctr+c) this URL.
  4. Paste (Ctrl+v) the URL in Brightspace and other documents.

Adding Links from ProQuest Digital Resource Collections

Capturing Article Links from ProQuest

  1. Click on the title of an article. This will reveal the detailed record.
  2. Click on the Abstract/Details Tab and then scroll down until you see the Document URL under Details.

    The document url is located in the details section.

  3. Highlight and copy (Ctr+c) the link. This will save the link on your clipboard.
  4. Paste (Ctrl+v) the link in Brightspace and other documents.

Capturing Journal/Magazine/Newspaper Links from ProQuest

  1. Click on the title of the journal. This will reveal the detailed record.
  2. Select the URL from the Address Bar.

    the address bar shows the permalink for a journal in ProQuest

  3. Highlight and copy (Ctr+c) the link. This will save the link on your clipboard.
  4. Paste (Ctrl+v) the link in Brightspace and other documents.

Adding e-Resources from Quicklaw Advanced Database to Brightspace

Note: The links for cases and other documents in Lexis Advance Quicklaw are currently not working.  The provider is aware of the problem and is working on a solution.  Until the problem is resolved, to share a case with your students, you will need to provide them with the name of the case and other identifying information that will allow them to search for the case in Lexis Advance Quicklaw.

We will update this page when the issue has been fixed. We apologize for the inconvenience.

Adding Links from NFB

Capturing Video and Playlist Links from NFB Campus

  1. Obtain a token from your campus library. Contact library@algonquincollege.com for this token. You will only need to request this token to create your account.
  2. Create your NFB Campus account and sign in.
  3. Search for a title and click on the thumbnail of the video to select. Make sure to filter your search under the Availability to Free and Campus. You should now see the detail page of the selected video.
  4. Below the video you will see buttons to Add to Your Playlist (Clock Icon) and Create Chapters (Scissor icon). Select one of these options.
    • Add to Your Playlist will let you add a title to an existing playlist or will prompt you to create a new one.
    • Create Chapters will prompt you to view the film and cut out the sections you wish to save.
  5. Open your list of playlists or chapters from the menu on the left side of the page.
  6. To share a playlist with your students, select the playlist form the left menu and copy the URL that appears in the “share this playlist” box. Note: Chapters must be added to a playlist before they can be shared.

Tip: The link for Campus under your login name contains video tutorials to help you with the additional features that are offered.

Adding e-Resource Links from ScienceDirect Database to Blackboard

Capturing Article, Journal, Magazine and Newspaper Links

  1. Click on the title of an article or publication. This will reveal the detailed record.
  2. Select the URL from the Address Bar.
  3. Copy (Ctrl+c) the URL. This will save the link on your clipboard.
  4. Paste (Ctrl+v) this URL in Brightspace and/or any other document.

Note: If you share an article via the email feature, you will need to modify the link for the resource to be viewable off campus. Add the following prefix at the start of the URL: https://ra.ocls.ca/ra/algologin.aspx?inst=algonquin&url=

Example: https://ra.ocls.ca/ra/algologin.aspx?inst=algonquin&url=https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0009898113003641

Adding Links from Safari by O’Reilly

There are two methods by which you can add links from Safari by O’Reilly to Brightspace:

  • Method 1: Involves a simpler process, but requires users to enter their Algonquin College email before they log in.
  • Method 2: Involves creating a long link, but users do not have to enter their email before they log in.

However you share resources, make sure to check your links once you have added them into Brightspace to ensure that they work. If you have difficulty with links, you can contact us for help: library@algonquincollege.com

Method 1

  1. Open Safari by O’Reilly and click on the resource that you want to share.
  2. Copy the URL from the address bar and paste it into Notepad or a word processor. Remove any characters after the string of numbers near the end. The URL should now look similar to this: https://learning.oreilly.com/library/view/exam-ref-ms-101/9780135574843
  3. Add the following characters to the end of the URL: /?ar

    E.g. https://learning.oreilly.com/library/view/exam-ref-ms-101/9780135574843/?ar

  4. Copy this new link and paste it in Brightspace and wherever else you want to share it with your students.
  5. Users must click on the link and enter their Algonquin College email address when prompted. They will then be directed to the College’s log in page, where they will need to enter their email and password.

Method 2

  1. Open Safari by O’Reilly and click on the resource that you want to share.
  2. Copy the end of the URL from the address bar, starting from the word ‘library’, (i.e. library/…).

    e.g. library/view/adobe-photoshop-lightroom/9780135299739/cover.xhtml

  3. Open Notepad or a word processor and paste the end of the URL.
  4. Add https://go.oreilly.com/algonquin/ in front of the URL.
    • e.g. https://go.oreilly.com/algonquin/library/view/adobe-photoshop-lightroom/9780135299739/cover.xhtml
  5. Copy the text of this new link, paste it into the address bar of your browser, and press enter to test that it is working.
  6. Copy and paste this link in Brightspace and wherever else you want to share it with your students.

Note: When copying and pasting URLs in Word, make sure to copy the text as it appears on the page, rather than the hyperlink automatically created by Word, as the latter introduces errors into the URL. Always check that your URL does not have spaces between characters.

Adding links to LinkedIn Learning Courses

There are three methods by which you can share a link to a course in LinkedIn Learning:

  • Method 1: Sharing the course URL from the address bar
  • Method 2: Sharing a the course as part of a collection
  • Method 3: Sharing a modified URL

Method 1: Sharing the course URL from the address bar

To get the link:

  1. Open the course that you want to share.
  2. Copy the URL for the course from the address bar in your browser.
  3. Paste the link wherever you want to share it.

To access the course from the link:

  1. Students click on the link. This will show the LinkedIn Learning homepage.
  2. They click Sign In at the top of the page.
  3. Students log in through the AC log in page with their AC email and password. If they have connected their account to a personal LinkedIn account, they may also need to log in to LinkedIn. They will now see the course.

Note: This method is not recommended because it may be confusing for students.

Method 2: Sharing a the course as part of a collection

To get the link:

  1. Open the course that you want to share.
  2. Click the Save icon Save icon: bookmark in a circle on the course screen to save the course.
  3. Click Add to collection. Choose an existing collection or create a new one.
  4. Click Saved from the top menu and then open your Collections tab.
  5. Click Share beside the Collection you want to share.
  6. From the drop-down menu labelled “Shared with,” choose Algonquin College of Applied Arts and Technology.
  7. Copy the link provided and paste it wherever you want to share it.

To access the course from the link:

  1. Students click the link to open the page.
  2. They log in through the AC log in page with their AC email and password. If they have connected their account to a personal LinkedIn account, they may also need to log in to LinkedIn. They will now see the course.

Method 3: Sharing a modified URL

To get the link:

  1. Open the course that you want to share.
  2. Copy the name of the course from the address bar. For example:
    • Course URL: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/managing-your-calendar-for-peak-productivity/welcome?u=2199673
    • Course name: managing-your-calendar-for-peak-productivity
  3. Paste the course name into the following snippet in place of the placeholder name, between the two %2f:
    • Snippet: %2fNAME_OF_THE_COURSE%2f
    • Example: %2fmanaging-your-calendar-for-peak-productivity%2f
  4. Copy this snippet and paste it at the end of the following URL:
    • URL: https://www.linkedin.com/checkpoint/enterprise/login/2199673?pathWildcard=2199673&application=learning&redirect=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.linkedin.com%2Flearning
    • Example: https://www.linkedin.com/checkpoint/enterprise/login/2199673?pathWildcard=2199673&application=learning&redirect=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.linkedin.com%2Flearning%2fmanaging-your-calendar-for-peak-productivity%2f
  5. Paste this URL wherever you want to share it.

To access the course from the link:

  1. Students click the link to open the page.
  2. They log in through the AC log in page with their AC email and password. If they have connected their account to a personal LinkedIn account, they may also need to log in to LinkedIn. They will now see the course.

Tutorials and Help

Library Resource List Builder for LMS

If you are including Library resources in Brightspace, you can use the Library Resource List Builder. The Resource List Builder allows faculty to create lists of Library digital resources from within their Brightspace profile. Students can then access these readings from within the course on Brightspace.

For more information visit the Resource List Builder help page.

Creating Alerts and RSS Feeds

A Search Alert or RSS Feed will notify of new results for a search that you performed. Email Alerts will send you updates by email, while RSS Feeds allows you to add these updates to your RSS reader.

Alerts/RSS Feeds within EBSCO Collections

  1. Create a personal account within EBSCO. This will permit you to modify your Alerts/Feeds.
  2. Perform a search that brings you to the material you require.
  3. Click Share from the menu above the results, and under Create an alert, select either E-mail Alert or RSS Feed.
  4. Follow the instructions for setting up setting up an Alert or RSS Feed.
  5. If you are creating an E-mail Alert, log in to your account.
  6. Click Save Alert.

Alerts/RSS Feeds within ProQuest Collections

  1. Perform a search that brings you to the material you require.
  2. Click Save search/alert below the search bar and select either Create Alert or Create an RSS Feed.
  3. Follow the instructions in the dialogue box carefully.
    • Email Alerts: Enter a valid email address, enter the details of your alert, and click Create alert.
    • RSS Feeds: Set your feed preferences and click Create feed.

Alerts/RSS Feeds within Gale Collections

  1. Perform a search that brings you to the material you require.
  2. From the side bar, select Create Search Alert.
  3. Follow the instructions carefully. If you are creating an email Alert, choose how often it will run, and the format for the email.
  4. Click Submit.