Skip to main content

Library

Tools for Online Learning

Library Services Update

On-campus Library services remain closed but we are still here for you!

  • Borrowing books (contact-free pickup): You can place books (other than reference or reserve items) on hold and pick them up on campus. This service is currently being offered in Pembroke and will begin on Friday Sept. 11th at Ottawa and Perth. For more information please read our FAQs.
  • Returning books: Books may be returned to the Library drop boxes after Tues. Sept. 8th. As a precaution, we will be setting aside returned items for 72 hours. Drop boxes are located at the following campus locations:
    • Ottawa: The 2nd floor of DARE District and on the 3rd floor in the Library Front Desk.
    • Perth: Outside the library door.
    • Pembroke: Outside the General Information Office (Room 131)
  • Library Fines: If you need to pay a fine, please email us at library@algonquincollege.com and we will respond within regular business hours.
  • Laptops: For information regarding laptop loans please contact ITS.

Remote services

On-campus services are currently suspended, but you can still access Library services remotely:

Preparing to Learn Online

Learning online might seem daunting at first, but it’s also an opportunity to develop new skills. Here is some information to help you get what you need while we have transitioned to online learning.

  • Library account:How you access digital resources such as eBooks, online videos and online journals. It is automatically generated for students, and you use your student number to log in.
    Your login and PIN for your library account will be:
    • Login – your student number. Ex: 040000000
    • PIN – The last 4 digits of your student number.
  • Digital Resource Collections:Online collections of resources such as articles, eBooks, videos, journals, reports, case law, and more.
  • One Search:Our central search tool. It searches across most of our digital resource collections.
  • Subject Guides:Online collections of resources we’ve compiled for each program.
  • Ask the Library:You can get help from the Library online. Explore our list of already answered questions, or talk to us directly through the online chat.
  • Student Survival Guide:A collection of online tools, resources, and tutorials to help you get started with remote learning, navigating technology, studying smart and staying a responsible student.
  • Well-being and the Online Environment A collection of tips and strategies to help support your mental health and well-being.

Top Tips

  • Search most of our resources at once using One Search. You can find academic articles, books, videos, reports, trade publications, and more.
  • Look for resources we might not have in One Search in our digital resource collections. If you’re not sure, check our answer on when to use One Search vs a digital resource collection.
  • Check out our Subject Guides. See recommended resources and start your search in the Subject Guide for your program.
  • Explore the online Research Guide. This guide has tips and guidance on each step of the process of preparing your papers.
  • Request items we’re missing.InterLibrary Loan services are available for online resources only. Please fill out the online form to request an InterLibrary Loan. Interlibrary loan.

Need help studying? Here are some tools you can use for your online learning.

Study Skills:

Online Collaboration Tools:

These resources in the Student Survival Guide Tech Tools can help you learn, meet with your classmates, and collaborate online. It includes tools to do the following:

  • Stay organized and keep on top of your to-do list
  • Collaborate on documents
  • Meet with your classmates or professors online
  • Share files

Multimedia & Website Creation:

These resources can help you find multimedia resources and the software, tools and content required to build websites and begin coding.

  • Student Survival Guide Tech Tools: Explore online tools and apps to assist you with website creation/coding. Many of these tech tools are provided free of charge!
  • Open Educational Resources Guide: Find openly licensed multimedia resources such as downloadable high quality images, website templates, icons and video stock footage.
  • The Learning Portal - Building Websites: Beautiful websites are possible with no coding experience required! There are lots of templates to choose from! In this module, you can learn how to create a great simple website.

Mental Health & Wellness:

These resources can help you gain healthy tips and strategies for staying calm during stressful times.

  • Stress Management: These modules can help you learn to manage and cope with your stress, as well as providing problems solving strategies.
  • Resilience: These modules will teach you strategies to improve your resilience and your ability to recover after setbacks.
  • AC Counseling Services - Apps and Online Tools: The following online tools provide information, resources, and support that you can access anytime to help improve your mental health and general well-being.
  • Borrowing Books: Library Collection Rooms and stacks remain closed, however you can still borrow books. To borrow items please place a hold online using the Library Catalogue.
  • Picking Up Books: Contact free pick up is available. Please bring your student/staff card.
    • Ottawa campus: Pick up your items within 7 days from the black Book Locker located in the Library (C350).
    • Pembroke campus: Items may be picked up from the General Information Office (Room 131) between the hours of 8:00 am - 4:00 pm Monday through Friday.
    • Perth campus: Items can be picked up from the Library on Mondays and Thursdays or you can make an appointment by emailing Kendra Swallow.
  • Returning Books: If you need to return items that you have borrowed from the library, you can do so in the following ways:
    • Ottawa campus: Place your items in one of the designated drop boxes located on the side of the library front desk and on the second floor of C Building.
    • Pembroke campus: library items can be returned to the drop box, now located outside of the General Information Office (Room 131).
    • Perth campus: Return your items to the drop slot located at the doors of the Library.

For more information about borrowing, renewing and returning books, please see the FAQs.

During the period of time classes are moved online, the Library is providing online workshops to help you improve your skills. All our workshops are offered online through the Zoom Platform. Please select the sessions you would like to attend and register through the Workshop Schedule.

Explore the online workshops being offered online and learn how to prepare for presentations, manage your time, use Zoom, conduct research, correctly craft citations, write an engaging paper, make studying less stressful, and more!

Whether you’re struggling in a subject or you just want to improve your knowledge, these online services can help you:

  • Peer Tutoring: Work on problems you’re having in a specific class with a student who did well in that class. To get set-up for online Peer Tutoring you will need to connect to the college VPN or contact the SLC Online Kiosk. Instructions and additional help can be found on the Peer Tutoring page.
  • Online Coaching: you can work on ESL or the fundamentals of a subject, including writing, and math.

Library staff are available via our online chat service Ask The Library. Please click the Ask The Library button (located in the bottom right corner of this page) to be instantly connected.

Ask the Library hours:

  • Monday - Friday: 8:00a.m - 5:00p.m

Send your questions by email or use our online form.

Browse the Library FAQ page to find answers to commonly asked questions.