Tools for Learning
- College Network Account:Log in using your Algonquin College email and password (the same credentials you use for Brightspace) to access digital resources such as eBooks, online videos and online journals.
- Databases A-Z:Online collections of resources such as articles, eBooks, videos, journals, reports, case law, and more.
- Page 1+:Our central search tool. It searches across most of our digital resource collections.
- Subject Guides:Collections of resources we've compiled for each program.
- Ask the Library:You can get help from the Library online. Explore our list of already answered questions, or talk to us directly through the online chat.
- Student Survival Guide:A collection of online tools, resources, and tutorials to help you get started with remote learning, navigating technology, studying smart and staying a responsible student.
- Coaching and Peer Tutoring:You can get free online and in-person help with subjects such as math, ESL, writing, and computers, or get support for a specific course from a trained student tutor for $8/hr. Both services are offered through the Student Learning Centre (SLC).
- Research Appointments:Book a one-on-one research appointment with a Library liaison for advice and assistance in finding useful resources. Appointments are offered online and in-person.
Top Tips
- Search most of our resources at once using Page 1+.
You can find academic articles, books, videos, reports, trade publications, and more. - Look for resources we might not have in Page 1+ in our Databases A-Z collection.
- Check out our Subject Guides.
See recommended resources and start your search in the Subject Guide for your program. - Explore the online Research Guide.
This guide has tips and guidance on each step of the process of preparing your papers. - Request items we’re missing.
InterLibrary Loan services are available for online resources only. Please fill out the online form to request an InterLibrary Loan. Interlibrary loan.
-
Finding resources for your assignments:
- The Research Desk (3rd floor, Ottawa campus), The Library Front Desk (Perth and Pembroke campuses)
- Online chat and FAQs on our website
- Research workshops
- Using the library space/equipment, borrowing a laptop, paying a fine, returning books, picking up a hold, accessing reserves, and more:
- The Library Front Desk
- Online chat and FAQs on our website
Borrowing Books:
- Borrow books from the collection and bring them to the Front Desk.
- Request an item using Page 1+
Picking Up Books:
Please bring your student/staff card.
- Ottawa campus: Items may be picked up from the Holds locker at any time.
- Pembroke campus: Items can be picked up from the Library during business hours.
- Perth campus: Items can be picked up from the Library during business hours.
Returning Books:
Return books to one of the following locations:
- 3rd floor Front Desk Ottawa campus (given to staff or put in the drop box)
- 2nd floor Ottawa campus Library drop box
- Perth and Pembroke campuses Library Front Desk or drop box
You can develop skills that will help you with your class work by participating in free workshops. There are sessions on topics such as the following:
- Getting started with Brightspace and Zoom
- Intro to the Library
- Avoiding Plagiarism
- Cite Right : APA Bootcamp
- Finding Academic Articles
- Time Management
- Learning to Learn Online
- Stress Management
Whether you’re struggling or you just want to improve your knowledge, these services can help you:
- Peer Tutoring: work on problems you’re having in a specific class with a student who did well in that class.
- Coaching: you can work on ESL or the fundamentals of a subject, including writing, math, computers, and anatomy/physiology.
Presentations are hard for most people, but you can make yours better. The Presentation Studio (C262) is a space where you can rehearse or record your presentations. It is equipped with whiteboards, a camera, a wall-mounted monitor, and a green wall to suit a variety of presentation needs.
Here are some examples of how you can use the Presentation studio:
- Beat presentation anxiety
- Rehearse group presentations
- Fine-tune your delivery
- Film presentations (for assignments or to improve technique)