Skip to main content

Library

About the Library

How to Borrow

Ebooks, Videos, Online Journals, Magazines & Newspapers

You can find these resources using the following tools:

  • Library catalogue
    • Ebooks: Select the check box to Search only Electronic Books.
    • Videos: use the Advanced Search and limit your format to DVDs, Videos, Films (not all video content is searchable here).
  • One Search – set the Source Type to your required resource type on the results page, e.g. Academic Journals, Videos, etc.
  • Digital Resource Collections – Set the Database Type to your required resource type, e.g. Ebooks & Audiobooks, Articles, Online Videos, etc.
  • Search Publications – Search for journals, magazines, and newspapers by title to determine if the library holds a certain periodical title in a digital format. You can then choose the source for the desired journal to access the volume you require.

A current library account is required for off-campus searching.

Laptops

  • Ottawa campus: For information regarding laptop loans please contact ITS.
  • Perth Campus: Students requesting a laptop loan should email Wayne Turcotte.
  • Pembroke campus: Students requesting a 2-week loan laptop should contact ITS by email at 2634@algonquincollege.com. You will need to provide proof that your laptop is being repaired or you will need permission from your Chair in order for this request to be granted.

Note: This service is only available to students.

Books & DVDs

Library Collection Rooms and stacks are closed. If you would like to borrow items from the Library, you must place a hold online using the Library Catalogue.

Borrowing books & DVDs (contact-free pickup): You can place books on hold and pick them up on campus. This service is currently being offered in Pembroke and will begin on Friday Sept. 11th at Ottawa and Perth. For more information please read our FAQs.

You can find print books and DVDs by using the following tools:

  • Library catalogue:
    • Books: Use the Advanced Search and limit your search to Books
    • DVDs: Use the Advanced Search and limit your search to “DVDS, Videos, Films”. DVDs will be identified in the record with the material code ‘DVD’.
  • One Search:
    • Books: Set ‘Limit To’ to show Print Books on the results page.
    • DVDs: Set the Source Type to Video at the results page. The item record will identify whether it is a DVD or an online video.

Print Journals, Magazines & Newspapers (Perth and Pembroke only)

Print version of periodicals are available only at the Perth and Pembroke campus locations. Borrowing is permitted for a 7-day period.

You can find specific print periodicals using the following tools:

  • Library catalogue – Choose the Advanced Search and set your format to Periodicals (Magazines Journals Newspapers).
  • Search Publications – Search by title to determine if the library holds a certain periodical title in print format. If the print periodical is held by the library, the campus location will be indicated.

 

Reserve Items

The Reserve collection is made up of items that faculty members have put aside for student consultation.

  • Pembroke campus: The Reserve collection will be available to Pembroke students, with the loan period for Reserve items being extended from 3 hours to 1 day. Reserves items are to be returned by 3:30 pm on the same day that they are borrowed. All requests for Reserve items must be made by emailing illpemb@algonquincollege.com.
  • Perth campus: To borrow an item from the Reserve collection, please contact swallok@algonquincollege.com.
  • Ottawa campus: The Reserve collection is currently unavailable.

You can find Reserve material using the following tool:

  • Library catalogue – choose the Reserve Desk option on the top menu bar. Reserves may be searched by Instructor, course number, or course name.

Borrowing, Renewing, Returning, and More

Can I borrow from the Algonquin College Library?

You can borrow items and access digital resources if you are a student, staff, or faculty at Algonquin College.

Alumni, community members, and Smart Library participants have limited borrowing privileges. For more information, read our information about services and resources for Alumni and Community members.

It’s my first semester. When can I start borrowing from the Library?

You should be able to borrow right away, as soon as you get your student number and your tuition fees have been paid. If you’re borrowing print material, you will also need your AC card.

Can I access the Library digital resources?

Students, staff and faculty at Algonquin College can access our digital resources. Alumni and community members do not have access to the digital resources.

Your Library Account will permit you to access the digital resource collections off campus, renew print books and cds, place holds on books and cds and borrow from other campus libraries.

  • If you are a student, your Library account is automatically generated when you start classes. Your login and PIN for your library account will be:
    • Login – your student number. Ex: 040000000
    • PIN – The last 4 digits of your student number.
  • If you are Faculty or Staff, you must apply for a Library account.

Do I need a Library card?

Yes, you need a library card to borrow physical items from the on-campus Libraries. Your AC Card acts as your Library card. Click here to learn more about the AC Card.

For how long can I borrow an item?

The length of time for which you can borrow is different depending on what you are borrowing.

Loan periods:

  • General collection (books & CDs): 2 weeks
  • Easy Readers and accompanying CDs: 4 weeks
  • Periodicals (Perth & Pembroke): 2 weeks
  • Ebooks: Varies by database
  • DVDs: 3 days for students, 2 weeks for staff/faculty.
  • Reference: unavailable
  • Reserve Collection: Loan Periods for Reserves may vary.

For more information, view our full table of loan periods.

Can I reserve an item I want to borrow?

Library Collection Rooms and stacks are closed. If you would like to borrow items from the Library, you must place a hold online.

Placing a hold on an item (e.g. a book) reserves that item for you. Some of the reasons you might place a hold are:

  • The item is checked out by someone else, and you want to borrow it when it is returned.
  • The item is available and you want to prevent others from checking it out before you can get to campus.
  • The item is at another campus and you want it brought to your campus (Intercampus loan). When you place the hold, you can choose your campus as the place you will pick it up.

To place a hold, you need to log in to the Library Catalogue with your student number as the log in and the last four digits of your student number as your PIN. For further instructions about how to place holds and pick up your items, read Holds: Placing a hold on an item.

For faculty information, see the Faculty and Staff Guide.

What will I be charged if I don’t return items on time?

The fines for overdue items depend on what you borrow. The fines are as follows:

  • General Collection (Books & CDs): $0.25 per day, max $20.
  • Reserves (3 hour loan): $1 per hour, max $30
  • Reserves (3 day loan): $3 per day, max $30
  • DVDs: $3 per day, max $3

If an item is more than 80 days overdue, you will be charged the cost of the item plus a processing fee. For more information on fines, see Overdue fines: Cost and payment.

What will I be charged if I lose an item that I borrowed?

The fines for lost items vary. They include the value of the material plus a $10 processing fee. For more information on fines, see Overdue fines: Cost and payment.

How do I pay my overdue fines?

Please do not go to the college to pay an overdue fine at this time. If you need to pay a fine, please email us at library@algonquincollege.com and we will respond within regular business hours.

Can I extend the due date for items I’ve borrowed?

Renewing an item extends the length of time that you can borrow that item. Most items may be renewed twice. Material borrowed may be renewed under the following conditions:

  • Renewal occurs before or on the due date.
  • There are no holds on the material.
  • You have no overdue material on your account.

Faculty/staff and students may renew items online using their Library account in the Library Catalogue. Log in to the Catalogue with your student number as the log in and the last four digits of your student number as your PIN. Alumni and members of the community can renew items that they have borrowed from the Algonquin Library by contacting us.

For more information on how to renew, read Renewals: Renewing your items.

Where can I return books that I borrowed?

Books may be returned to the Library drop boxes after Tues. Sept. 8th. As a precaution, we will be setting aside returned items for 72 hours. Drop boxes are located at the following campus locations:

  • Ottawa: The 2nd floor of DARE District and on the 3rd floor in the Library Front Desk.
  • Perth: Outside the library door.
  • Pembroke: Outside the General Information Office (Room 131)

Can I have a book at another AC campus brought to my campus?

You can borrow books that are in the collection of another Algonquin College campus library and pick them up at your campus. This is called an Intercampus loan.

To borrow an item, place the item on hold in the Catalogue and set the campus to your campus.

For further instructions about how to place holds and pick up your items, read Holds: Placing a hold on an item.

Can I get access to a resource that isn’t in the Algonquin College Library collection?

Yes. Students, staff, and faculty at Algonquin College can borrow from other libraries in two ways:

Note: loaning library policies may vary from that of Algonquin College’s. Please make yourself aware of these differences (especially those concerning fees and fines, as these apply) by visiting the website of the loaning library.

How do I renew something I borrowed from another institution?

Material that is borrowed from another library directly or through Interlibrary loan are subject to the owning library’s policy on renewals.

Below are the methods of renewing items for each borrowing method:

  • Direct Borrowing: If you borrowed directly from a Sm@rtlibrary Participating Library or another Ontario College Library, contact the lending library before the due date of your item.
  • Algonquin Interlibrary Loan (ILL): Contact the campus where you requested the loan before the due date:
    • Ottawa: illwood@algonquicollege.com (613) 727-4723 ext. 5282
    • Pembroke: illpemb@algonquincollege.com (613) 735-4700 ext. 2707
    • Perth: illpert@algonquincollege.com (613) 267-2859 ext. 5644

For more information, see our Borrowing from other libraries: How to borrow directly or request an interlibrary loan FAQ.

How do I return something I borrowed from another institution?

Below are the methods of returning items for each borrowing method:

  • Direct Borrowing: Borrowers should return items directly to the loaning library.
  • Interlibrary Loan (ILL): borrowers should return the items to the campus from which they requested the ILL.

Can I get a resource in an alternative format?

We can obtain digital copies of books in order to assist users with perceptual disabilities. Complete the Accessible Library Book Request Form to request a Library book in an accessible digital format. You must know the title of the book to make the request, and the book must be part of the AC Library collection.

What other accommodations does the Library provide to help me access resources?

The Library provides the following accessibility services to assist users with disabilities:

  • Retrieving material
  • Extending a loan period
  • Assistance with scanning/photocopying

For information on these services and how to request assistance, visit our Accessibility Services Guide.