Skip to main content

Library

About the Library

About Us

Ottawa Campus Library (Room C350)

The Ottawa Campus Library is the largest of the three campus libraries at Algonquin College. It maintains a broad collection, supporting courses in the Applied Arts, Business, Trades & Technology, and Health Sciences. In addition, the Ottawa Campus Library carries a limited Government Document collection and a small Law collection.

The Ottawa Campus Library also has a Student Learning Centre (SLC). The SLC at the Ottawa campus provides the following services: Peer Tutoring, coaching in the Learning Support Lab, the Presentation Studio, and workshops in the Digital Literacy Lab. The SLC kiosk is located at C259 in the DARE District of the Ottawa campus.

Pembroke Campus Library (Room 145)

The Kathleen and F. Allan Huckabone Library serves Students, Faculty/Staff and community members at Algonquin College in the Ottawa Valley. There are designated study areas, with the option of booking a study room. The Library maintains a collection of reserves (including select textbooks, laptops, periodicals, audio-visual resources, and books). The Library is the circulation hub for the textbooks required by the Academic Upgrading program . As well, the Library facilitates priority use of the AT Meeting Room in collaboration with the Centre for Students with Disabilities. Finally, the Library is home to the Student Support Lab. An Academic Coach is available by appointment to help students who would like extra help with English, research skills, mathematics, science and computers.

Perth Campus Library (Room 117)

The Library at the Perth Campus is home to a robust collection of material related to the curriculum of programs on campus.

A very special aspect of the Perth Campus Library is a collection pertaining to the history and people of Lanark County, used widely by students, staff, and researchers from near and far. Study rooms are available within the Library, as well as access to, and loan of, computer equipment, audio-visual equipment, and various materials specific to campus programs. Stop by and visit… we’re open to the community too! You can also tour our Library here

Policies

A valid faculty/staff/student/community member library card is required to borrow materials from the Library. Staff reserves the right to inspect briefcase/bags at the exit when the security system is activated.

Students and faculty/staff with a valid Algonquin ID card are provided access to Library services. Perth patrons can request a library card if they do not have an Algonquin ID card. Cards can only be used by the individual named on the card.

A card owner is responsible for any materials borrowed with that card. If the card is lost or stolen the responsibility continues until the Library is notified about the loss/theft. There is a $5 fee for replacement of a lost card issued by the Library.

Community members are welcome to consult and borrow the material in the Library. Restrictions apply to some materials. To obtain a Library card, please apply at the main desk and photo id is required.

Not all Library materials circulate. For materials that do circulate, the length of the loan may vary. A maximum of ten (10) items can be charged out at one time.

General Collection
Books, most CD’s
2 weeks
Easy Readers and Accompanying CDs 4 weeks
Periodicals Perth and Pembroke -1 week loan
Reference items Ottawa: in-Library Collection Room 2 use only
Perth and Pembroke: In-Library use only
Reserve Collection (Items available on a first come first served basis.) In-Library use 3 hours ( 3 days for selected items) Perth is usually 1 day loan
Visual Media (videos, dvd’s)
*students limited to 2 AV
Items at a time
May be booked in advance.
  • 3 day loans for students
  • 2 weeks maximum for faculty/staff
Laptops & Netbooks Same day on-campus use only

Some items are renewable twice if the item is not already overdue and there are no other requests for the item. Easy Readers and accompanying CDs can only be renewed once. Patrons can renew in person, by phone, or online. Note: Community Users can renew in person or by phone. There are no renewals for Reserve materials.

Fines must be paid before items can be renewed.

During operating hours, materials should be returned to the main desk. After hours, the book drop near the main entrance should be used.

All items must be returned by the due date.

Items found on shelves without a “return date” stamp are considered returned on the date they are found. Overdue notices are provided as a courtesy. Non-receipt of such notices does not absolve patrons from their responsibility for the timely return of materials. Patrons should ensure that the Library has their correct mailing and e-mail address.

Overdue Fines

It is a borrower’s responsibility to ensure that any material borrowed from the Library is returned in good condition by the date due. Late fines are charged for overdue materials and go into effect the day following the due date.

General Collection
(Books, audiocassettes, CD’s)
  • fines $.25 per day, per item.
  • Maximum $20.00, per item.
Reserve Collection (Items available on a first come first served basis.)
  • In-Library use material; $1.00 per hour, per item.
  • 1 or 3 day loan material; $3.00 per day, per item.
  • Maximum $30.00, per item.
Visual Media
(videos, dvd’s)
  • $3.00 per day, per item
  • Maximum $50.00, per item.
Laptops & Netbooks
  • $20.00 per day
  • Maximum $800.00, per item.

Replacement Charges

The borrower will be charged for replacement costs if the item is lost or stolen and for repairs if the item is damaged. A $10.00 processing fee will also be applied. Note: The Library does not refund money after the item is paid for.

Books & CD’s
  • Replacement cost
  • $10.00 processing fee
  • Outstanding fines
Visual Media/Laptops
  • Replacement cost (maximum $1,000.00)
  • $10.00 processing fee
  • Outstanding fines

A user may ask that an item that is currently checked out be held for him/her upon its return. This can be done online using the Library catalogue or by asking the staff at the main desk. No holds will be accepted on Reserve material. Holds are kept for 7 days and may be picked up at the front desk.

These items appear on the catalogue with the location code “Reserves” and are available at the main desk. This collection is for use of Algonquin students/staff. Reserve material with an hourly loan period cannot be taken out of the Library.

Laptop computers/desktops in the Library are to be used for Academic purposes only. All users must log out before leaving the Library (see I.T.S. user agreement).

Laptops are available in the Library for same-day on-campus loan. Students must have their student or library card to borrow a laptop. Fines will apply to late returns.

Borrowers are responsible for the laptop in their possession, and should not leave it unattended at any time.

Library borrowing privileges will be suspended under any one of the following circumstances:

  • a patron has overdue items
  • a patron has any unpaid fines or replacement charges outstanding
  • a patron is delinquent in the return of Interlibrary Loan material
  • a patron violates Library regulations including:
    • removal of material from the Library without carrying out proper procedures
    • mutilation or destruction of library materials/property

As per College Policy SA14, the Registrar will withhold marks, diplomas or certificates until overdue material is returned and/or fines are paid in full. Sealing of students’ file is done shortly before the end of each term.

The Library participates in a direct borrowing agreement which permits registered Algonquin College students (proof of registration required) to borrow material directly from other college libraries (some material may have borrowing restrictions). The borrower is responsible for the safe return or replacement of material borrowed or for any charges incurred.

As part of the Smart Library consortium, students, faculty and staff are allowed limited borrowing privileges at several Ottawa institutions, including Carleton U, University of Ottawa and Ottawa Public Library. A Smart Library membership card is required to borrow from these institutions. This card must be requested at the Algonquin Library main desk.

All materials borrowed at these institutions must be returned to them.

Any overdue fines that are incurred should be paid at the lending library. Any outstanding Smart Library bills will be forwarded to the Algonquin Library. The usual sanctions related to fines and overdue items, would then apply. Any concerns regarding fines incurred at other Smart Libraries should be addressed to the lending library’s Circulation department which issues the fines/overdue notices.

Students and staff in good standing with the Library may request books, videos, or journal articles that are located at a different campus. Normally these items should arrive within three days.

They may also request an inter-library loan for books or journal articles not located at Algonquin College Libraries but available elsewhere.

The Library offers quiet and silent study areas. There should be no talking in these areas and cellphones set to vibrate. Our facilities and our services are not designed to meet the requirements of children.
Purses, bags and valuables should not be left unattended in the Library.

Your Library Account Allows You to:

  • see a list of items you have on loan, including due dates
  • renew items you have on loan (provided there is no hold placed on that item for another library user and that you have no overdue material and/or fines on your account)
  • check the status of hold requests you have placed
  • see any fines or bills you may have incurred

This login is also used for access to digital resource collections off campus.  For more details please consult our library website.

  • Ottawa Library (613) 727-4723 ext. 5834
  • Pembroke Library (613) 735-4700 ext. 2707
  • Perth Library (613) 267-2859 ext. 5644

Algonquin Libraries will accept donations of the following items:

  • Print books (in good condition, less than 5 years old, and that support the curriculum offered by the college).
  • Paperback books for our Leisure Reading Collection (Woodroffe and Perth only).

We do not accept:

  • Duplicate titles (unless the item is in high demand).
  • Periodicals.
  • Video/DVD materials.
  • Publisher or preview copies marked as such by the Publisher.

Once donated, the item becomes the property of the Library, to be retained or disposed of as required. In co-operation with the Algonquin Foundation, tax receipts can be issued for the market value of items that are added to the collection. To receive a tax receipt for gifts in kind, donors must provide a spreadsheet prior to transferring the materials to the library. The spreadsheet should include the following: author, titles, publisher, publication date.

Donations of collections valued at less than $1,000 (only one donation will be accepted in a given year) may be appraised by experienced Library staff. In accordance with Canada Revenue Agency requirements, collections valued at more than $1,000 must be assessed by an independent appraiser, the cost of which will be covered by the donor.

Alumni Borrowing

Graduates of Algonquin College (Alumni) may borrow directly from the Library by obtaining an Alumni Library card. This card may be obtained in person at the campus of your choice.

With an Alumni Library card a member may borrow items from the circulating collection. (Reserve items are strictly for use within the Library and availability depends on student usage).

To be considered an Alumni of Algonquin College and receive the Community Member card as an Alumni member you must first obtain an Alumni ID Card.

Community Borrowing

Members of the local community may borrow directly from the Library by obtaining a Community Member Card. This card may be obtained in person at the campus of your choice.

With a Community Member Card a member may borrow items from the circulating collection. (Reserve items are strictly for use within the Library and availability depends on student usage).

Available Services for Alumni and Community Members

  • Reference service.
  • Inter-campus loans.
  • Use of reserve items within the Library dependent upon student traffic.
  • Borrowing from the circulating collection.
  • In-Library viewing of DVDs.
  • Item renews in person or via telephone or email.