Skip to main content

Library

Faculty & Staff

Information and resources from the Library

Tools For Online Learning

Faculty - the Library staff are here to support your learning, teaching and research needs remotely!

In this guide, you will find digital Library resources and online services that are tailored for faculty. This includes tools to help you add links to your LMS and to stay connected to your students, information on finding and using Open Educational Resources, access to digital resource collections, and more.

  • Online Chat - Ask The Library (located at bottom right corner of this page) to be instantly connected with Library staff via our online chat service.
  • By email You can also contact us by using our online form or browse the Library FAQ page to find answers to commonly asked questions.
  • One-on-one online support ​Book an online appointment for in-depth assistance with:
    • Library Research: Curate resources for your online teaching, from Library subscribed content
    • OER Support: Find out how to use Open Educational Resources to find, share and adapt material for your online courses.
    • Copyright : Get answers to your copyright questions

To find digital resources, you can search using our One Search tool on the Library homepage, or browse our list of individual Digital Resource Collections. Browse our list of curated Subject Guides to find recommend resources for your program/area of study.

To access digital resources online, you will require a Library Account. If you do not have a library account or are experiencing issues logging in, please contact us or visit the Library Account page for more information.

Guides for digital resources:

The AC Library Resource List Builder allows faculty to create lists of Library digital resources from within their Brightspace profile. Students can then access these readings from within the course on Brightspace.

  • Avoid PlagiarismPlagiarism includes more than just "copying and pasting”. This Guide is designed to help you better understand what plagiarism is and how to avoid it by learning the basics about academic integrity.
  • Citing SourcesFind out how to correctly cite and document your sources. Access MLA, IEEE and APA help, free citation tools, online videos and more.
  • Zoom for StudentsIf you are using Zoom to hold classes online, we recommend sharing the Zoom for Students Guide with your learners. This guide has instructional videos and information to help get your students started with Zoom, including tips and tricks for using Zoom in groups. If you are interested in accessing a collection of questions about Zoom to add to Brightspace, please click here to download the files.
  • The Learning PortalThe Portal provides shared access to resources from all Ontario Colleges. We recommend exploring the following online modules:
    • Faculty Toolkit Cartridges For more interactivity, make use of the cartridges in the Faculty Toolkit. You can test your students' understanding of the material by importing these cartridges of quiz questions into your Brightspace course.
    • Learning Online HubThis hub covers strategies and tools that will help your students be successful learning online, including support with motivation, help using new technology, and techniques for effective studying.
  • OER for Faculty Guide: A primer for faculty on OER, how to use them, how to create them, and where to find them.
  • The Learning Portal’s OER Toolkit: Information and tools to help faculty and library staff across all publicly funded colleges in Ontario to understand, engage with, and sustain OER in their work and practice.
  • BCCampus Open Academic Continuity Resources: Open resources, such as simulations, courses, textbooks, videos and more. 
  • CTE Online: Lesson plans aligned to CTE, Common Core and Next Generation Science Standards, as well as Integrated STEAM/STEM projects and model course outlines you can copy and share.
  • Merlot II: A curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services.
  • OER Commons: A digital library and network that provides instructional content on a variety of subjects.
  • OASIS: A search tool that facilitates the discovery of open content. Find course material, learning objectives, modules, and more.

The resources that follow may be helpful for your course delivery: