Citing and Documenting Sources
Avoid plagiarism by learning the basics about academic integrity and citation.
The following formats are recommended by APA, MLA, IEEE and other citation styles; however, you should format your citations according to your professor’s guidelines.
APA 7th Ed. Resources
The following format is recommended by APA guidelines; however, you should always format your papers according to your professor’s guidelines.
-
APA 7th Ed. Style ManualAPA Style Manual 2022
Below are a few of the videos created by Humber College libraries explaining how to reference different types of resources in APA format. See all videos in the playlist here
-
APA 7th Ed from Purdue University Online Writing LabThis guide will help you learn how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation and format style. This section contains resources on in-text citation and the References page, as well as APA sample papers, slide presentations, and the APA classroom poster.
-
APA Seventh Edition TutorialThis tutorial is designed by the American Psychological Association for those unfamiliar with this style format.
Other Citation Resources
- Purdue University's Online Writing Lab: MLA Formatting and Style Guide (9th ed.) - Opens in a new windowThis guide provides information on formatting your paper and referencing both print and electronic sources.
- Simon Fraser University Library MLA Citation Guide (8th ed.) - Opens in a new windowThis guide includes information on how to cite many sources including Tweets, Canadian government documents and Custom Courseware.
- EasyBib - The Ultimate Guide to MLA Eighth Edition - Opens in a new windowThis guide provides guidance on how to cite sources according the the eighth edition of MLA.
Books in Our Collection
Cite Right: a quick guide to citation styles -- MLA, APA, Chicago, the sciences, professions, and more. Third Edition - Opens in a new window by Call Number: PN171.F56 L55 2018ISBN: 9780226431109Cite Right is the perfect guide for anyone who needs to learn a new citation style or who needs an easy reference to Chicago, MLA, APA, AMA, and other styles. Each chapter serves as a quick guide that introduces the basics of a style, explains who might use it, and then presents an abundance of examples. This edition includes updates reflecting the most recent editions of The Chicago Manual of Style and the MLA Handbook. With this book, students and researchers can move smoothly among styles with the confidence they are getting it right.
Student's Guide to Writing College Papers, Fifth Edition - Opens in a new window by Call Number: LB2369 .T82 2019ISBN: 9780226494562Students of all levels need to know how to write a well-reasoned, coherent research paper--and for decades Kate L. Turabian's Student's Guide to Writing College Papers has helped them to develop this critical skill. For its fifth edition, Chicago has reconceived and renewed this classic work for today's generation. Addressing the same range of topics as Turabian's A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations but for beginning writers and researchers, this guide introduces students to the art of formulating an effective argument, conducting high-quality research with limited resources, and writing an engaging class paper.
For spelling reference, IEEE uses The Merriam-Webster Dictionary. For guidance on grammar and source styles not included in the IEEE Editorial Style Manual, consult The Chicago Manual of Style, published by the University of Chicago Press.
- IEEE Referencing Style -University of York - Opens in a new windowThis guide from the University of York, England, includes guidelines for IEEE style.
- IEEE Website - Opens in a new windowThis website is the official website for IEEE, the world's largest professional association dedicated to advancing technological innovation and excellence for the benefit of humanity.
- IEEE Overview Purdue the OWL.This page will introduce you to the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) style for formatting research papers and citing sources. IEEE – pronounced “I-triple-E” – is a style widely used among all branches of engineering, computer science, and other technological fields.
Guides
The following format is recommended by APA guidelines; however, you should always format your papers according to your professor’s guidelines.
Videos
Review the APA 6th Ed. playlist created by Humber College libraries explaining how to reference different types of resources in APA format.
Online Modules
Links
- APA Sixth Edition Tutorial - Opens in a new windowThis tutorial is designed by the American Psychological Association for those unfamiliar with this style format.
- Purdue University Online Writing Lab 6th Ed. - Opens in a new windowThis guide provides assistance in rephrasing material.
Books
The APA Style of Documentation by Call Number: BF76.8 .P75 2010bISBN: 9780136049708Publication Date: 2009-11-04
A Pocket Style Manual, APA Version - Opens in a new window by ISBN: 9781319011130Publication Date: 2015-08-10
- Purdue Online Writing Lab introduction to Chicago Manual of Style (CMOS). 17th ed.This page will help you learn to use the Chicago Manual of Style (CMOS) citation and format style.
- Duke University Citing SourcesThis page offers assistance for many different styles including Chicago Style and Turabian.
- Simon Fraser - Turabian StyleHumanities style Chicago/Turabian (17th ed.)
- BibMe - Opens in a new windowThis fully automatic bibliography maker is an easy way to generate citations to build a works cited page. Includes APA 6th ed., MLA 7th ed., Chicago 16th ed. and more
- Citation Machine - Opens in a new windowHelps students and professionals properly credit the information that they use. Cite sources in APA, MLA, Chicago, or Turabian for free. 7th ed. of MLA, 6th ed. of APA, and 16th ed. of Chicago (8th ed. Turabian).
- Cite This For Me - Opens in a new windowA free web tool to generate citations, reference lists and bibliographies!
- EasyBib Citation Generator - Opens in a new windowThis citation tool from automatically creates citations. Easy Bib can create citations using 7th ed. or 8th ed. of MLA, the 6th ed. of APA, and 16th ed. of Chicago (8th ed. Turabian).
- EduBirdie : IEEE Citation Generator (includes MLA, APA and Chicago)Free and Comprehensive Guide & IEEE Citation Generator
- Knightcite - Opens in a new windowThis website from Calvin College includes a citation generator that will create citations in APA 6th ed, MLA 7th ed. and 16 ed. of Chicago Style (7th Turabian). (Note: this tool will be updated to reflect the 8th edition of MLA, but will continue supporting 7th ed.)
- Scribbr Citation GeneratorScribbr's APA Citation Generator, you can search for your source by title, URL, ISBN, or DOI and generate accurate APA citations in seconds..
- Copyleaks Plagiarism CheckerFree software online that can detect AI generated content, verify ownership and empower error-free writing. Sign up is required to see your content report.
- EasyBib Plagiarism CheckerThis tool allows you to check your writing for passages copied from another source, as well as for grammar errors. The plagiarism checker requires you to sign up for a paid account.
- Grammarly Plagiarism CheckerThis free tool allows you to upload or copy and paste your writing to check for text that was copied from elsewhere. This tool will also give you feedback on grammar, spelling, and other writing issues.
- Scribbr Plagiarism CheckerUsing Turnitin.com to compare your document to the world’s largest content database, covering 99.3 billion web pages, 8 million publications and over 20 languages. Scribbr is free but to see the suggestions you have to upgrade (for a fee) to premium.
- Cornell University Library : Annotated Bibliography - Opens in a new windowThis library guide explains how to create an annotated bibliography.
- How to Write an Annotated Bibliographyfrom Simon Fraser University
The Literature Review is a comprehensive scan of previously published research on a specific topic. Authors use the literature review to provide readers with a current understanding of the topic, and identify existing research gaps. Literature reviews usually investigate peer reviewed literature as these research papers have undergone a thorough review for quality before being selected for publication.
- 7 Steps to Writing a Literature ReviewFrom Guelph University.
- How to Write a Literature ReviewPautasso M. (2013). Ten simple rules for writing a literature review. PLoS computational biology, 9(7), e1003149. https://doi.org/10.1371/journal.pcbi.1003149
- How to Write a Literature Review for NursingFrom Regis College.
Why Is Citation So Important?
-
Academic Integrity- College Policy AA48: Academic Integrity - Opens in a new wiAvoiding Plagiarism - Algonquin CndowAlgonquin College policy AA48: Academic Integrity. Read this policy to learn about how the College defines plagiarism and its consequences at the College.
-
Academic Integrity - The Learning PortalLearn more about the concept of Academic Integrity.
-
Academic Integrity Student ResourcesWhere to get help and support at Algonquin College.
APA 7th Ed. Modules
The modules below cover how to use APA 7 to format your papers and cite your sources. Check with your professors to see which edition of APA they want you to use.
Module 1: Plagiarism Activity Transcript Module 2: Introduction to APA Papers Activity Transcript Module 3: Incorporating Sources Activity Transcript Module 4: General Format Activity Transcript Module 5: Creating an APA Reference Page Activity TranscriptLibrary/SLC Resources
Coaching is a free service where you can get help in the fundamentals of subjects such as math, English, and more from knowledgeable coaches. Some subjects offer coaching by appointment, while coaching in other subjects is offered on a drop-in basis. Click on a subject below to view the schedule or register for a session.
Library digital resources require you to log in if you are off campus. You will need to log in using your College Network Account credentials.
If you are having problems logging in from off campus, click here for more information. - Opens in a new window