Citing and Documenting Sources
Avoid plagiarism by learning the basics about academic integrity and citation.
The following formats are recommended by APA, MLA, IEEE and other citation styles; however, you should format your citations according to your professor’s guidelines.
APA 7th Ed. Resources
The following format is recommended by APA guidelines; however, you should always format your papers according to your professor’s guidelines.
Below are a few of the videos created by Humber College libraries explaining how to reference different types of resources in APA format. See all videos in the playlist here
- APA 7th Ed from Purdue University Online Writing LabThis guide will help you learn how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation and format style. This section contains resources on in-text citation and the References page, as well as APA sample papers, slide presentations, and the APA classroom poster.
- APA Seventh Edition TutorialThis tutorial is designed by the American Psychological Association for those unfamiliar with this style format.
Other Citation Resources
- Purdue University's Online Writing Lab: MLA Formatting and Style Guide (8th ed.) - Opens in a new windowThis guide provides information on formatting your paper and referencing both print and electronic sources.
- Simon Fraser University Library MLA Citation Guide (8th ed.) - Opens in a new windowThis guide includes information on how to cite many sources including Tweets, Canadian government documents and Custom Courseware.
- Simon Fraser University Library MLA Citation Guide (7th ed.) - Opens in a new windowThis guide includes information on how to cite many sources including Tweets, Canadian government documents and Custom Courseware.
- EasyBib - The Ultimate Guide to MLA Eighth Edition - Opens in a new windowThis guide provides guidance on how to cite sources according the the eighth edition of MLA.
Books in Our Collection
MLA Made Easy - Opens in a new window by Call Number: PN171.F56 H43 2010ISBN: 9781586833435Publication Date: 2009-09-01
- IEEE Referencing Style -University of York - Opens in a new windowThis guide from the University of York, England, includes guidelines for IEEE style.
- IEEE Website - Opens in a new windowThis website is the official website for IEEE, the world's largest professional association dedicated to advancing technological innovation and excellence for the benefit of humanity.
Guides
The following format is recommended by APA guidelines; however, you should always format your papers according to your professor’s guidelines.
Videos
Review the APA 6th Ed. playlist created by Humber College libraries explaining how to reference different types of resources in APA format.
Links
- APA Sixth Edition Tutorial - Opens in a new windowThis tutorial is designed by the American Psychological Association for those unfamiliar with this style format.
- Purdue University Online Writing Lab 6th Ed. - Opens in a new windowThis guide provides assistance in rephrasing material.
Books
The APA Style of Documentation by Call Number: BF76.8 .P75 2010bISBN: 9780136049708Publication Date: 2009-11-04
An EasyGuide to APA Style - Opens in a new window by Call Number: BF76.7 .S39 2017ISBN: 9781483383231
A Pocket Style Manual, APA Version - Opens in a new window by ISBN: 9781319011130Publication Date: 2015-08-10
- BibMe - Opens in a new windowThis fully automatic bibliography maker is an easy way to generate citations to build a works cited page. Includes APA 6th ed., MLA 7th ed., Chicago 16th ed. and more
- Citation MachineHelps students and professionals properly credit the information that they use. Cite sources in APA, MLA, Chicago, or Turabian for free. 7th ed. of MLA, 6th ed. of APA, and 16th ed. of Chicago (8th ed. Turabian).
- Knightcite - Opens in a new windowThis website from Calvin College includes a citation generator that will create citations in APA 6th ed, MLA 7th ed. and 16 ed. of Chicago Style (7th Turabian). (Note: this tool will be updated to reflect the 8th edition of MLA, but will continue supporting 7th ed.)
- Cite This For Me - Opens in a new windowA free web tool to generate citations, reference lists and bibliographies!
- EasyBib Citation Generator - Opens in a new windowThis citation tool from automatically creates citations. Easy Bib can create citations using 7th ed. or 8th ed. of MLA, the 6th ed. of APA, and 16th ed. of Chicago (8th ed. Turabian).
- Cornell University Library : Annotated Bibliography - Opens in a new windowThis library guide explains how to create an annotated bibliography.
- Duke University Citing Sources - Opens in a new windowThis page offers assistance for many different styles including Chicago Style and Turabian.
- Purdue University Online Writing Center: Paraphrasing - Opens in a new windowThis guide provides assistance in rephrasing material.
Why Is Citation So Important?
- Avoiding Plagiarism (Algonquin College Library) - Opens in a new windowRead Algonquin College’s Plagiarism Directive and learn how to avoid violating it.
- Academic Integrity and Avoiding Plagiarism (University of Victoria) - Opens in a new window
Learn what plagiarism is and how to avoid it. (University of Victoria)
- How We Cite (The Writing Centre, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill) - Opens in a new window
Learn the difference between quoting, paraphrasing, summarizing, and generalizing, as well as how to avoid plagiarism through proper citations.
- Plagiarism 2.0: Information Ethics in the Digital Age - Opens in a new window
A video on plagiarism, its consequences, and techniques to avoid it.
Library/SLC Resources
Coaching is a free service where you can get help in the fundamentals of subjects such as math, English, and more from knowledgeable coaches. Some subjects offer coaching by appointment, while coaching in other subjects is offered on a drop-in basis. Click on a subject below to view the schedule or register for a session.
Library digital resources require you to log in if you are off campus. You will need to log in using your College Network Account credentials.
If you are having problems logging in from off campus, click here for more information. - Opens in a new window