How to Find eBooks
1. To start searching for eBooks, go to the Algonquin College Library homepage and type your keywords into the search bar.
2. Under ‘Resource Type’ on the left hand side menu, select 'Books'. Then under 'Availability', select 'Available Online' and click 'Apply Filters'.
3. Once you have found an item of interest, click on the title for more information. Instructions on creating an account and downloading eBooks are located on the Using eBooks page.
1. To find eBooks by searching in a specific collection, go to the Algonquin College Library homepage and click on the Digital Resources button located below the Page 1+ search bar.
2. A new window will open displaying the A-Z Digital Resource Collections; from here you can filter your results or search directly for a database. Under the "All Database Types" drop-down menu, choose Ebooks & Audiobooks.
3. Your results will now be limited to digital resource collections that contain eBooks. Click the title of the database that interests you to start browsing.
- Subject Guides allow users to browse recommended resources relevant to different areas of study. To access these guides, go to the Algonquin College Library homepage and click the Subject Guides button.
- The list of Subject Guides will appear in a new window. You can view all guides or browse by subject. Enter the Subject Guide of your choice and browse the recommended eBooks
- Now that you know how to find eBooks, go to the Using eBooks page to learn more about how to download and use eBooks.
eBook Quick Links
-
eBook Central (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Ebooks on a broad range of subject areas, including business, engineering, law, medicine, and hospitality and tourism.
-
EBSCO eBooks This link opens in a new window
Educational ebooks on a wide variety of subjects, as well as a small collection for leisure reading. You can download up to 10 ebooks at one time. After 14 days, the ebooks will be automatically returned. You can print, or save as a PDF (which doesn’t expire), one chapter of an ebook.
-
Safari by O'Reilly This link opens in a new windowAn on-demand digital collection that delivers expert content in both book and video format with a focus on technology and business.
