Skip to main content

Library

LinkedIn Learning

FAQs

  • How can I use LinkedIn Learning in my classes?LinkedIn Learning is a great way to supplement your course content and help your students improve their skills. You can share individual courses, or create playlists (known as collections) of courses and videos.
  • How can LinkedIn Learning courses help my students? LinkedIn Learning is a useful complement to academic course content because students access it online on their own schedule. It can help students develop in several areas, including the following:
    • Skills for their studies, such as time management and Microsoft Office
    • Software for class assignments, such as Autodesk and Adobe.
    • Skills to prepare for their career, including interviewing, networking, and preparing for a new job.
  • How can LinkedIn Learning courses help me? It’s not just students who can benefit from LinkedIn Learning. Faculty and staff can keep up to date on new technology. LinkedIn learning also has courses for professional development.

Working with Content

In LinkedIn Learning, playlists are known as collections. You can follow the collections instructions from LinkedIn for help creating collections of courses and videos in LinkedIn Learning.

What is LinkedIn custom content mapping?

It is a free service provided by LinkedIn Learning to help faculty use LinkedIn Learning in their classes. LinkedIn Learning uses information provided from your course outlines to curate collections of courses and videos that fit your learning objectives.

If you would like to work with LinkedIn Learning to have custom content mapped playlists for your course, send an email to Anabella Arcaya at arcayaa@algonquincollege.com with the subject “LinkedIn Learning Content Mapping Request.” In this email, add your Course Outline as an attachment.

How others are using LinkedIn Learning

LinkedIn Learning is so expansive that you might not know where to begin or how to get the most out of it. We looked at some success stories from other educational institutions for inspiration. In a few of these cases, we refer to Lynda.com because the institutions had not yet upgraded to LinkedIn Learning.

If you are interested in reading more case studies, you can find them in LinkedIn Learning’s Customer success stories.

King’s College in London wanted to find a way to supplement their academic curriculum with skills-based learning that would make their students more employable. They used LinkedIn Learning to provide learning resources that fit their students' schedules.

Their university LinkedIn Learning admins created Learning Paths for the students at different stages of their academic career:

  • Year One students built skills in reading, note taking, revision, becoming resilient, and coping with pressure.
  • Year Two students worked on grammar, editing, proofreading, and tools to help with essay writing.
  • Year Three students focused on time and project management, and prepared for careers with content on job hunting, elevator pitches, and internships.

Read the full King's College case study.

One of the ways that Virginia Tech uses Lynda.com is to support flipped classrooms. Students learn software like Photoshop on their own, which frees up class time to apply these skills to collaborate, etc.

Lynda.com also allowed instructors to incorporate technology in classes without teaching the skills themselves. For example, instructors could ask students to create a video for an assignment instead of a written paper, and the students could learn the video skills on Lynda.com.

Read the full Virginia Tech case study.

For the LA Community College District (LACCD), one of the main advantages of LinkedIn Learning is the ability to integrate it with LinkedIn. Their students use LinkedIn Learning to learn new skills that make them more employable. They then add these skills to their LinkedIn profiles to build an online resume.

Read the full LACCD case study.

The University of Brighton uses Lynda.com to help both employees and students build the skills they need. Staff and faculty use Lynda.com to stay up to date on new technology.

The University sends incoming students a ‘pre-arrival’ collection before they begin. The courses in this collection help them with skills like avoiding procrastination that will help them in university.

The University of Brighton also incorporates Lynda.com into a flipped classroom model. Students can be required to complete a Lynda.com course before they cover a tool in class, so that they have an understanding of the software beforehand.

Read the full University of Brighton case study.

Unlike the other institutions on our list, Durham University used Lynda.com by LinkedIn specifically for staff training. They used Lynda.com to train a large number of IT professionals and to prepare them for an IT industry certification. They found Lynda.com to be an effective method of delivering professional development learning because it provides flexibility for staff. The courses on Lynda.com covered the skills that IT staff needed for their certification, which resulted in a large number of staff gaining certification in the first few months.

Read the full Durham University case study.