Print and online journals
- Wood Design and Building - Opens in a new window
Available online
"The only North American magazine exclusively about wood use in architecture and construction."
Timber Framing: Journal of the Timber Framer's Guild - Opens in a new windowAvailable at Perth campus
Holdings: 1989 - current issue
Full article archives DVD is available to borrow from the Main Desk at the Perth Campus Library - just ask!
Click here for online access to issues from 2007 - present
Old House Journal - Opens in a new windowAvailable at Perth campus
Holdings: 1977 - current issue
Journal of Light Construction - Opens in a new windowAvailable at Perth campus
Holdings: 2001 - current issue
Click here for online access to issues on JLC's site from 1986 - present
Fine Homebuilding - Opens in a new windowAvailable at Perth campus
Holdings: 1981 - current issue
Full-text article archives DVD is available to borrow from the Main Desk at the Perth campus Library - just ask!
Click here to search index online
APT Bulletin (Association for Preservation Technology) - Opens in a new windowAvailable at Perth campus
Holdings: 1970 - current issue
"APT Bulletin articles showcase cutting-edge preservation techniques, as well as innovative applications of established restoration technologies."
Article search & index is available here.
**Algonquin students: check with the Perth campus Library for member login to access back issues of APT Bulletin via JSTOR.
Online Articles of Interest
- The Geometrical Design Works - Opens in a new windowLaurie Smith’s personal website, dedicated to geometrical learning. Articles include:
- A Timber Framed Encyclopaedia of Geometrical Carpentry Design
- Drawing Daisy Wheel Angles and Triangles
- Drawing the Golden Rectangle & Logarithmic Spiral
- and more! - Articles written by Iscarsah members - Opens in a new windowRecent articles written by members of ISCARSAH that are relevant to the work of International Scientific Committee on the Analysis and Restoration of Structures of Architectural Heritage.
- Standard for Design of Timber Frame Structures - Opens in a new windowFrom the Timber Frame Engineering Council.
- Oxley Conservation Articles - Opens in a new windowSelection of articles written by Richard Oxley, including "The need for roofs to breathe," "Surveying Historic Timber-Framed Buildings," and "Is Timber Treatment always Necessary? An Introduction for Homeowners."
Key databases this area
- Art and Architecture Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides content for art, art history, architecture, interior and landscape design etc. Includes articles from scholarly journals, trade journals and magazines.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA large and diverse collection of scholarly journals, magazines, and newspaper articles, as well as some books and conference proceedings. It covers most subject areas.
- Britannica Online This link opens in a new windowA complete, searchable version of the Encyclopedia Britannica and Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus. It includes biographies, timelines, images, videos, a world atlas, country snapshots, and statistics.
- Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety This link opens in a new window*Not searchable in Page 1+. Search directly in database to access content.*
Access to several chemical safety and toxicology databases, such as MSDS, RTECS, OSH References, CHEMINFO and FTSS, that are important resources for workplace safety. - CHIN (Canadian Heritage Information Network) This link opens in a new windowPublicly available resources for museum professionals. The topics include collection management, digitization, and digital preservation.
- Home Improvement (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowArticles related to home improvement. It includes subjects such as architectural techniques, zoning requirements, and tool and material selection.
How to Use Page 1+
At home, on campus or on the go, Page 1+ gives you easy access to the up-to-date, industry-relevant resources, hand-picked by the Algonquin College Library. Learn more about Page 1+