Subject Guides: Open Educational Resources: Open Education

What is Open Education?

Open Education encompasses resources, tools and practices that are free of legal, financial and technical barriers and can be fully used, shared and adapted in the digital environment. Open Education maximizes the power of the Internet to make education more affordable, accessible and effective.

To learn more about how to use open educational resources within the proper legal limitations, please read the information on the OER guide home page

Why Open Education Matters

"The OERs - Open Educational Resources" by intheacademia is licensed under CC BY.

Open Educational Resources

CTE Online
A strong community with thousands of Lesson Plans aligned to CTE, Common Core and Next Generation Science Standards, as well as Integrated STEAM/STEM projects and model course outlines you can copy and share. Also includes tools for users to create their own curriculum and collaborate in groups.
Encyclopedia of Life
A massive, collaborative online encyclopedia that aims to provide information about every species on earth.
Google Advanced Search
Perform an advanced search on Google and specify the usage rights to find CC licensed results.
HHMI BioInteractive - Opens in a new window
BioInteractive is a leading provider of free classroom resources and professional development for high school and undergraduate biology educators.
Lumen Learning
Offers inexpensive courses that make use of open resources to reduce the cost of educational materials.
MERLOT II
MERLOT is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used for educational purposes internationally.
MIT OpenCourseware
Some of these online textbooks are open-licensed electronic versions of print books. Others are self-published online books, or course notes which are so thorough that they serve as an alternative to a conventional textbook.
Moodle
Moodle.net allows you to search for downloadable courses, some of which are CC licensed.
OASIS
Openly Available Sources Integrated Search is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 61 different sources and contains 160,727 records.
OER Commons
A digital library and network that provides instructional content on a variety of subject.
OER Knowledge Cloud
Features a searchable database, free access to research initiatives and data on all aspects of OER and is an up-to-date source on developments in the field.
PhET Simulations
Interact, discover and learn with these intuitive, game-like simulations.
Ressources éducatives libres (REL) - Opens in a new window
Find information about OER in French.
SOFA
Open-source platform for physics and medical based simulation software.
Ten Facts About Open Educational Resources (OERs)
10 facts to help you better understand OER and how they work.
wikiHow
A worldwide, open source website that aims to teach anyone in the world how to do anything.
Wikimedia Commons
A collection that boasts millions of freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute.

Library

Open Educational Resources

What is Open Education?

Why Open Education Matters

Open Educational Resources