Subject Guides: Forestry Technician: Web Resources

Relevant Websites

Algonquin College's Waterfront Campus: Forestry Technician - Student Experience - Opens in a new window
Environmental Careers Organization of Canada (ECO Canada) - Opens in a new window
From job creation to wage funding, to training and post-secondary accreditation, through expert labour market research and customized human resources solutions for business, ECO Canada champions the environmental sector, and the end-to-end career of environmental professionals.
Forestry Jobs in Canada - Opens in a new window
The Forestry Jobs in Canada features career opportunities in all fields of Canada's forestry and forest products sectors.
Natural Resources Canada Green Jobs in Natural Resources - Opens in a new window
Youth play an important role in shaping the future of Canada’s economy. The Science and Technology (S&T) Internship Program - Green Jobs provides funding to eligible employers across Canada to hire and mentor youth in the natural resources sector, including in energy, forestry, mining, earth science, and clean technology.
Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources and Forestry: Become A Licensed Scaler - Opens in a new window
How to get a job as a licensed scaler in Ontario.
Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources and Forestry: SP100 Wildland Firefighter Training Course - Opens in a new window
This course is mandatory for FireRangers with the Ministry of Northern Development, Mines, Natural Resources and Forestry and firefighters working for private companies contracted by the ministry.
Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources and Forestry: Forestry Careers - Opens in a new window
Learn about careers in the forestry industry.
Ontario Tree Marker Program - Opens in a new window
The tree marking course covers topics such as silvicultural systems, silviculture, silvics, wildlife habitat, tree defects and tree vigour characteristics. Through this training, tree markers help ensure the sustainability of Ontario’s public and private woodlands by making ‘cut and leave’ decisions for individual trees. Tree marking, done in conjunction with good forestry practices, has the capacity to safeguard the wellbeing and longevity of a forest.

Canada

Canadian Council of Forest Ministers - Opens in a new window
Governments working in partnership to ensure Canada remains a world leader in sustainable forest management while supporting a competitive forest sector.
Canadian Forest Service - Opens in a new window
The CFS is part of Natural Resources Canada, a federal government department. Provides science, policy and advice on national forest sector issues, working in collaboration with the provinces and territories.
Ecological Land Classification (ELC) 2017
The Ecological Land Classification 2017 provides standard names and codes for Canada's ecozones, ecoprovinces, ecoregions and ecodistricts. The hierarchical structure of the classification shows the relationship between the levels of the classification.
My Tree - Opens in a new window
My Tree allows users to identify their Canadian hardiness zone using their mobile device’s GPS or manually via a touch screen and determine which native and introduced trees are adapted to the climate in their location and other hardiness zones within Canada. Users can access photos, illustrations, and basic information on each tree profiled in the application.
National Forestry Database - Opens in a new window
The National Forestry Database (NFD) is Canada's Compendium of Forestry Statistics, serving as our national source of credible, accurate, and reliable forestry statistics. The principal role of the NFD is to collect and compile national forest data and forest management statistics.
National Research Forests - Opens in a new window
Natural Resources Canada, through the Canadian Forest Service, maintains two national research forests: The Acadia and Petawawa Research Forests. These living laboratories have a long legacy of providing scientific data that inform researchers, scientists and industry about long-term trends to help them address forestry issues now and in the future.
Natural Resources Canada - Forests and Forestry - Opens in a new window
Forest industry and trade, Wildland fires, insects, and disturbances, Forest fact book, State of Canada's forests report, Sustainable forest management, The Canadian Forest Service, Forest sector funding programs, Canadian forest service publications, Current lumber, pulp and panel prices.
Ontario Forest Fires - Opens in a new window
Information about the current forest fire danger, forest fire activity and fire restrictions across the province.
Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources and Forestry - Opens in a new window
Information on sustainable forest management, renewal, industry development, wood exports, using trees from Crown forests, Crown timber charges and stumpage fees, reports, guides for Crown forest managers, becoming an Ontario Wood partner, finding available wood, how to apply for a mill licence, and jobs/careers in forestry.
Tree Atlas | Ontario - Opens in a new window
Learn which trees are native to Ontario and the best species to plant where you live. Click on the map as close as possible to your intended planting site.
Trees, Insects and Diseases of Canada's Forests - Opens in a new window
Trees, insects and diseases of Canada's forests (TIDCF) is a database that provides information on more than 200 native tree and shrub species, and on almost 300 insects and 200 diseases found in Canada's forests.

United States

United States Forest Service - Opens in a new window
The U.S. Forest Service, an agency of the U.S. Department of Agriculture, manages public lands in national forests and grasslands. The Forest Service partners internationally on natural resource management, policy and research issues.

Forestry Act (R.S.C., 1985, c. F-30) - Opens in a new window
An Act respecting forestry development and research.
Professional Foresters Act, 2000, S.O. 2000, c. 18 - Opens in a new window
The principal object of the [Professional Foresters] Association is to regulate the practice of professional forestry and to govern its members in accordance with this Act, the regulations and the by-laws in order that the public interest may be served and protected.

Royal Roads University - Opens in a new window
Royal Roads University agrees to facilitate the block transfer of students from Algonquin College of Applied Arts and Technology with appropriate prerequisite qualifications as having met the basis of admission into the third year of the RRU programs identified.

Canada

Canadian Institute of Forestry - Opens in a new window
Established in 1908, the CIF-IFC is the oldest forest society in Canada! The Institute serves as the voice of forest practitioners representing foresters, forest technologists and technicians, ecologists, biologists, educators and many others with a professional interest in forestry.
Canadian Standards Association - Opens in a new window
CSA Group is a global organization dedicated to safety, social good and sustainability. We are a leader in Standards Development and in Testing, Inspection and Certification around the world including Canada, the U.S., Europe and Asia. Our mandate is to hold the future to a higher standard.
Forest Products Association of Canada - Opens in a new window
FPAC provides a voice for Canada’s wood, pulp and paper producers nationally and internationally in government, trade, and environmental affairs. Canada’s forest industry operates in more than 600 forest-dependent communities from coast to coast, and directly employs 230,000 Canadians across the country.
Forest Professional Regulators of Canada - Opens in a new window
The Forest Professional Regulators of Canada (FPRC) is an advisory group composed of representatives of forest professional regulatory organizations across Canada and the Canadian Institute of Forestry, which represents those jurisdictions in which forestry is not a regulated profession.
Forests Ontario - Opens in a new window
Forests Ontario is dedicated to the renewal and stewardship of Ontario's forests. Landowner programs, education, ways to get involved, events, news and resources, tree planting subsidies, teacher resources, how to donate, and an online store.
National Aboriginal Forestry Association - Opens in a new window
Promotes and supports increased Aboriginal involvement in forest management and related commercial opportunities, while staying committed to holistic or multiple-use forestry, to build sustainable Aboriginal communities.
Ontario Forest Industries Association - Opens in a new window
The Ontario Forest Industries Association (OFIA) is a provincial trade association and is the home of CLA Grading and Inspection. For 76 years, OFIA has represented forestry companies ranging from multinational corporations, to family-owned businesses that operate across Ontario.
Ontario Professional Foresters Association - Opens in a new window
Information, news, member services, practice & advocacy, regulation & enforcement, registration, and resources from the Ontario Professional Foresters Association (OPFA). OPFA is committed to the sustainability of Ontario's forests by assuring professional standards of practice in forestry.
Ontario Woodlot Association - Opens in a new window
The Ontario Woodlot Association (OWA) is a not-for-profit grassroots organization governed by an elected, volunteer board of directors. Our members own and manage woodlots throughout the province and include individuals and organizations that support our goals. We believe that private landowners have a key role to play to ensure that sustainably managed forests remain a part of Ontario’s future.

International

Commission for Environmental Cooperation (CEC) - Opens in a new window
In the context of environmental, economic and social linkages between Canada, Mexico and the United States, the CEC facilitates effective cooperation and public participation to conserve, protect and enhance the North American environment in support of sustainable development for the benefit of present and future generations.
Forest Stewardship Council - Opens in a new window
A global not-for-profit organization that sets the standards for what is a responsibly managed forest, both environmentally and socially.
National Council for Air and Stream Improvement, Inc. (NCASI) - Opens in a new window
The National Council for Air and Stream Improvement, Inc. (NCASI) is a 501 (c)(6) tax-exempt association organized to serve the forest products industry as a center of excellence providing unbiased, scientific research and technical information necessary to achieve the industry’s environmental and sustainability goals.

Canada

Canadian Forests Website - Opens in a new window
Provides links to relevant sites for federal and provincial governments, forest industries, service and supply companies, associations and non-governmental organizations, consultants, education and research, forestry news, and employment opportunities.
Eastern Ontario Model Forest - Opens in a new window
News, information, activities, publications, events, partners, how to contribute and get certified from the Eastern Ontario Model Forest (EOMF), one of 15 model forests in the Canadian Model Forest Network. The EOMF collaborates with various partners and supporters to develop ways to sustain and manage forest resources.
Friends of the Petawawa Research Forest - Opens in a new window
The Friends of the Petawawa Research Forest was established to support, promote, and protect the Petawawa Research Forest for continued scientific study, environmental education, and public recreation.
The Working Forest Newspaper - Opens in a new window
The Working Forest newspaper was established by Judy Skidmore in November 1997 to provide news information for and about the Canadian forest industry.

International

The Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change - Opens in a new window
The Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) is the United Nations body for assessing the science related to climate change.
International Model Forest Network - Opens in a new window
The International Model Forest Network (IMFN) is a voluntary global community of practice whose members and supporters work toward the sustainable management of forest‐based landscapes and natural resources through the Model Forest approach.

Quick Links

Evaluating Internet Resources - Opens in a new window

Related Algonquin Subject Guides

Environmental Technician
by Sara Lehnen Last Updated Oct 8, 2024 206 views this year
Firefighter Education/Training
by Jessica Shiers Last Updated Oct 8, 2024 210 views this year
Geographic Information Systems
by Meagan M. Last Updated Oct 8, 2024 74 views this year
Urban Forestry - Arboriculture
by Sara Lehnen Last Updated Oct 8, 2024 97 views this year

Library

Forestry Technician

Relevant Websites

Quick Links

Related Algonquin Subject Guides