Subject Guides: Legal Research: Web Resources

Featured Online Resources

The Canadian Legal Research and Writing Guide (Canii) - Opens in a new window
Learn when and how to use particular resources, and better understand statutory research and electronic searching. Includes links to free online resources and lists of leading publications can help you conduct your research.
Canada's Justice System - Opens in a new window
Canadian Association of Paralegals - Opens in a new window
CAP is a national association, incorporated on May 22, 1980. The choice of the “paralegal” designation was intended to standardize the various designations used in the job market (legal assistant, legal technician, technical clerk, law clerk, etc.) and to facilitate international exchange with paralegal associations in other countries.
Canadian Bar Association - Opens in a new window
Our Association represents some 36,000 lawyers, judges, notaries, law teachers and law students from across Canada.
Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations - Opens in a new window
This database allows you to search for the meaning of abbreviations for English language legal publications, from the British Isles, the Commonwealth and the United States, including those covering international and comparative law.
Clawbies - Opens in a new window
The Canadian Law Blog Awards (Clawbies) highlights great blogs published by the Canadian legal industry.
Federation of Law Societies of Canada - Opens in a new window
The Federation of Law Societies of Canada is the national coordinating body of Canada’s 14 provincial and territorial law societies, which regulate more than 100,000 lawyers and 4,000 Quebec notaries in the public interest.
Irwin Canadian Online Legal Dictionary - Opens in a new window
Law Society of Ontario - Opens in a new window
Created by an act of the Legislative Assembly in 1797, the Law Society of Ontario governs Ontario’s lawyers and paralegals in the public interest by ensuring that the people of Ontario are served by lawyers and paralegals who meet high standards of learning, competence and professional conduct.
Ontario Bar Association - Opens in a new window
The Ontario Bar Association (OBA), a branch of the CBA, represents 17,000 lawyers, judges, notaries, law teachers and law students from across the province. Approximately two-thirds of all practicing lawyers in Canada belong to the CBA. Includes a limited Lawyer Look up by name service for the public.
Ontario Paralegal Association - Opens in a new window
The OPA is the only one of its kind in Ontario and in the rest of the country, representing members of the paralegal profession who are committed to providing legal representation whilst facilitating and promoting access to justice for the residents of Ontario.
Steps to Justice - Opens in a new window
Steps to Justice gives reliable and practical information on common legal problems including:
step-by-step information to help you work through your legal problems
practical tools, such as checklists, fillable forms, and self-help guides
referral information for legal and social services across Ontario
live chat and email support if you can’t find the answers to your questions

The Great Library - Law Society of Ontario
Search for books, journals, Law Society CPD articles, and Web pages.
Justice Laws Website - Opens in a new window
Department of Justice Canada website the online source of the consolidated Acts and regulations of Canada. The consolidations are generally updated every two weeks.
LEGISinfo - Opens in a new window
Parliament of Canada. LEGISinfo is an essential research tool for finding information on legislation before Parliament. This tool provides electronic access to a wide range of information about individual bills.
Table of Public Statutes and Responsible Ministers - Opens in a new window
Department of Justice Canada site, showing all the chapters of the Revised Statutes of Canada, 1985, with their amendments, and certain other public Acts and their amendments.

Legislative Assembly of Ontario
Current Bills.
Ontario Legislative Tables - Opens in a new window
Legislative tables provide historical and other information about Ontario’s: public statutes, regulations, private statutes, and amendments.
Archives of Ontario: Ontario Bills and Legislation - Opens in a new window
Digitized Government Publications
The Archives of Ontario’s library collection contains a diverse selection of Ontario government publications documenting the decisions, functions and activities that have shaped the province. This section of our website provides online access to select library publications, including digitized Ontario budgets, and taxation reports and studies published by the Ministry of Finance.

Legal Citation Guide - Opens in a new window
From CANLII – based on the 8th edition of the Canadian Guide to Uniform Legal Citation (the McGill Guide).
Practical Insights: Avoiding Plagiarism
published by Purdue Global Law School. This article discusses the various types of plagiarism, how to paraphrase correctly, and actionable tips every student can follow. The resource also references internet tools that students can use to avoid plagiarism in their writing.

Quick Links

Evaluating Internet Resources - Opens in a new window

Ontario and Canadian Statutes

Canadian Statute Print Resources

Revised Statutes of Canada
Statutes of Canada
Revised Statutes of Canada
Canadian Statute Citator
Consolidated Regulations of Canada
Canada Gazette (The Canada Gazette is a digital publication only. The print version, which was first produced in 1841, ceased on April 1, 2014.1)

For Electronic resources see Featured Online Resources

Canadian Statute Research

Locate the Revised Statutes of Canada, 1985 within the law collection.
Locate the Statute in the Revised Statutes of Canada: English Index. Or, use the Canada Statute Citator, RSC1985.
To find recent updates:
Canada Gazette, Part III, Table of Public Statutes/ Table of Acts and Responsible Ministers. Or search the http://www.gazette.gc.ca/.
Find your Act in the Table of Public Statutes.
Changes to a Statute of Canada can also be followed in the Revised Statutes of Canada 1985. Table of Concordance.

Ontario Statutes Print Resources

Statutes of Ontario
Revised Statutes of Ontario
Revised Regulation of Ontario
Ontario Gazette
Ontario Bills

For Electronic resources see Featured Online Resources

Ontario Statute Research

Locate the Revised Statutes of Ontario 1991 within the law collection.
Each annual volume also contains a Table of Public Statutes, a Table of Proclamations, a Table of Private Acts, and a Table of Regulations.
Revised Statutes of Ontario 1990
To find recent updates:
Ontario Gazette https://www.ontario.ca/search/ontario-gazette
- The online PDF version of The Ontario Gazette is the official copy.
- The print version ceased on March 31, 2021

Library

Legal Research

Featured Online Resources

Quick Links

Ontario and Canadian Statutes